top of page

Puppies, Hamsters and Guinea Pigs oh My! <3

Something I've learned throughout the years is how amazing pets and animals really are. I've been through equine therapy with horses. And my favourite therapist had dogs, rats, guinea pigs, and a cat. Those were the most effective therapies I've been through. Why? I'll answer this question from personal experience, but I wanna preface this with I'm not a therapist or a scientist so scientific reasons are out the door for me. For me, it's because these animals are comforting, fun, and calming -a great way to manage emotions because I don't want to scare a little animal even when I am upset.

Sometimes humans aren't great at being loving. Our judgement can get in the way of our sympathy and empathy for others. I am judgemental towards others sometimes too, but I try my best not to voice the shallow judgements. If I am concerned about a friends safety, I'll voice it. Sometimes it comes off as judgemental, and it doesn't feel great for anyone involved. On the flip side, I've been judged a lot in my life. So I know how painful it can be sometimes. It twists things in my head to where if a friend is calling me out for dangerous habits, sometimes I think they're judging me. Once someone gets help from trusted family and friends though, there is nothing more comforting than having a little furry friend. Dogs are loyal, playful and have no judgement. Hamsters are fluffy. Turtles are chill. Horses are timid but great once they get used to you. Cats are cuddly. And fucking guinea pigs are just so darn cute and cuddly. Sometimes we just need a friend who won't judge but won't lead us into more trouble. On top of that, pets relieve some symptoms of mental illness. A few weeks ago I was severely depressed. I also have PTSD and struggle staying grounded (avoiding disassociation and flashbacks). Pets help me to stay grounded because I have something to pet and look after. As weird as it sounds, I also talk to my hamster or the guinea pigs because they don't judge me for anything, haha. Animals are great for emotional support, and I would highly recommend a pet to help someone struggling (after they seek professional help too of course).

Ever seen a box turtle eat a strawberry? Or heard a guinea pig squeak? Or have you petted the super-soft nose of a horse? Pets and animals are so much fun, to observe, listen to, and train. My favourite most unexpected fun animal was in therapy. RATS! Did you know you can teach a rat adorable tricks? I swear rats are so frickin' smart. It surprised me, to say the least. Then there was the horse therapy! Oh my goodness it tested my bravery. The therapist had me do so many cool things with his horse Bingo. I would ride it, stand on my knees, and eventually, I stood on the horse - as it was moving! It was a bit scary once he let my hand go, but the sensation of conquering my fears is an experience I would not trade. My fear of falling was tested too (haha) I definitely fell a few times but the therapist caught me. On top of that Ima little chicken. Horses scare me, I mean com-mon they are fucking huge. But even though I'm a little afraid I won't let that stop me from experiencing the amazing and fun animals.

Now what about when we truly freak out? Panic snags every one of us a few times in our life (PTSD or not). We all have bad days, some of us more than others (myself included haha), but nonetheless life is gonna have shitty points for everyone. We grieve and get depressed. We stress out and become anxious. We lose something or fail and we become fearful. Desperation leads to temptation. Us humans can have it pretty hard sometimes. And when we freak out it's like the world was pulled right out from under our feet. Some of us hope to be swallowed back up by it. Others grow jaded and bitter towards the world. It can take mountains of work and control to try and be stable when shit hits the fan. But something that can help, even when friends and family fail, is animals. The comfort a dog gives when he notices his master isn't feeling too hot. Maybe your dog is a licker (gross haha) or a cuddler, either way, it will care. Hamsters, turtles, lizards, and snakes are great listeners. Cats and guinea pigs are cuddlers. Whatever pet you have or want they can help. On top of that having a sense of responsibility for a helpless little creature gives me a sense of purpose and meaning. I might not know why I am here, but I am gonna make damn sure my hamster is spoiled rotten :) With that responsibility too, I become more aware of how I react with my emotions. I wouldn't want to scare an animal because I am angry or pissed off. So I stay a little bit more calm around them (even when I am pissed at myself or other people)

I love animals and I think they can help a lot of people. But I know they aren't for everyone. It can be hard to take care of them right if you have a particularly weak stomach for their shit, or food (like I do but I'm ok with rodent shit lol). I cannot do reptiles anymore cause I hate bugs. They scare the daylights out of me and bugs are just awful. Also unpopular opinion but I can't do dogs or cats. At least until I live with someone who would clean up the shit and piss. Cause I tried and I throw up every time (I am a pussy when it comes to gross shit lol).

Regardless of the gross parts, I think we should all take some time to really appreciate our furry friends. Go give them a treat, after reading this, or a new toy or a cuddle. Let your puppy, horse, hamster, rat, mouse, guinea pig, turtle, lizard, snake, or whatever your friend may be, know you love them. Except for scorpions and tarantulas, maybe just give them an extra snack or something. I don't think those like petting much.

Anyways talk to ya next time and thanks for readin'


-Alien Girl


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Accident and Church

I have a confession, yesterday I backed into someone's car. . . But something unexpected happened. So it all started with me taking a quick 2 minute trip to the nearby gas station. I'm in Kansas for C

bottom of page