top of page

Day 3- Ren Fest Duties

Getting shit done today. More drawings, emails, etc... Also I need to find a costume for my new job. I'm working at the local ren fest this summer and let me tell you all. . .

It's a hoot and a holler. So many costumers and workers are in character and dressed awesome.

Last weekend I saw this group of people (who were taking shelter by the beer stand as it was raining horribly) they were all decked out in hunting gear. These people meant business. It was a freezing cold day and all they had on was animal pelts for warmth. These people looked like the Forsworn gang right out of Skyrim. They were intense.

Then you can always tell who for sure cosplays regularly. There was this group taking a picture in front of my stand and oh my lord they looked like they came straight out of the Renaissance. One girl had this beautiful flowing green gown which had intricate gold stitching down the chest and sleeves. The sleeves drooped off her arms. Another girl in the group had an intricate white lace dress which opened at the sides. One girl had on a more close fitting blue dress and a purple hood with perfect brown ringlets underneath, and the last girl had flowing purple lace gown where the sleeves hung off her arms. The costumes all looked hand made because the entire group was well fitted.

Seeing all these custom costumes and such has really inspired me to try with my costume for work. I don't have the time to sew a costume or the money to buy a handmade costume. However, one of my coworkers told me good will was perfect for finding renaissance type clothes. So I'm planning on trying to create an outfit by finding time-period similar clothing and layering what I need. I'm also thinking about buying a corset or bodice online. Here is a pro-tip; unless you really want a high quality corset or bodice, don't buy one at a festival. They are extremely expensive compared to what you can find online. I mean I can't control any of you, but make sure it's really worth it in your eyes. Cause' a few days ago I was looking around during my break and my god $240 for a corset. Phew I don't have that kind of money but it was beautiful. I'll buy other things at the fest for my costume like a crown or a jingly thing with my tip money, but hell to the no on spending that much cash on a corset. I'll just look online, haha.

Well that's it for the blog today. Pretty soon I'm gonna get my streaming channel on Twitch up and running and find a way to connect it to the site too. So keep an eye out for that. I'll also be adding new drawings as I go. Bye Earthies!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Accident and Church

I have a confession, yesterday I backed into someone's car. . . But something unexpected happened. So it all started with me taking a quick 2 minute trip to the nearby gas station. I'm in Kansas for C

bottom of page